Travel Authorization Required to Enter Europe

Travel Authorization Required to Enter Europe

In March 25, 2019

The European Commission has passed a law that requires anyone, including U.S. citizens traveling to select countries within Europe, to apply for a travel authorization. The travel authorization known as European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS) will grant travelers access to 26 countries within the Schengen Area.

The article explains “The Schengen Area is a zone of 26 European countries that do not have internal borders and allow people to move between them freely, including countries such as Spain, France, Greece, Germany, Italy and Poland.” A country like England however, will not require this form of authorization.

As of now, U.S. citizens can travel Europe for up to 90 days without any form of travel authorization. However, once the ETIAS takes full effect in 2021, that will change. Note ETIAS is not a visa, rather an authorization system that provides security to the European nations against terroristic threats. Anyone interested in traveling to this area can complete an application online. The application has a service fee of $7 euros (which is about $8) and the authorization is valid for 3 years. There is no need to re-apply if you plan on traveling to Europe again with that three-year period.

To find out more information on the travel authorization for Europe, click here or visit

Safe travels from your Official Travel Documents team!

Comments are closed.